Far From Heaven

Name: Far From Heaven
Year: 2002
Rating: Made For TV
Running Time (minutes): 107
Description: In 1950s Connecticut, a housewife faces a marital crisis and mounting racial tensions in the outside world.
Stars: Julianne Moore, Dennis Quaid, Dennis Haysbert
Genre: Drama, Romance

How many things can go wrong with a romantic drama starring Julianne Moore? I was always going to like this one, I suppose, but hadn’t expected it to be so moving, emotional and sad. I really enjoyed it, especialy after all the crap I’ve been watching lately. My only negative remark is that Moore was at times perhaps a little bit too gushing, too frantic, too desperate, but then again, it was probably part of the act.

This was also my first Elmer Bernstein score and it was gorgeous! There was me thinking no one could beat Patrick Doyle at writing lush, romantic scores. This one was absolutely stunning and heartbreaking.

Leave a Reply

