Rogue One

Name: Rogue One
Year: 2016
Rating: PG
Running Time (minutes): 123
Description: All looks lost for the Rebellion against the Empire as they learn of the existence of a new super weapon, the Death Star. Once a possible weakness in its construction is uncovered, the Rebel Alliance must set out on a desperate mission to steal the plans for the Death Star. The future of the entire galaxy now rests upon its success.
Stars: Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Alan Tudyk
Genres: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi

I really enjoyed it. I only think that too many good people died rather quickly and really didn’t like K2: the voice was just… off. Use C3-PO, but don’t try to replace him, it doesn’t work. Felecity Jones’s character and performance was terrific, I really need to watch her in Inferno as soon as I can. And even though I’m not a fan of the current political correctness obsession that requires everyone to force minorities into every single film, I liked Chirrut and demand to know where I can sign up for Jedi training… and why J.K. Rowling hasn’t provided an answer to the question: (How) an blind people use a wand?

And now a word about the score. I haven’t been following the debate at all on this one, but my answer to ‘is Giacchino the next John Williams’ is definitely YES. While I found that the thematic references to JW’s scores didn’t suffice (why use only the first half of the Forcce – AND WHERE IS THE MAIN TITLE FANFARE?!?), most of the score sounded like something JW could have written. Jin’s theme is great. To write such music in such a short amount of time is impressive and even though I generally don’t like frantic JW action music, I’m embracing it these days just because I’ve totally had it with Hans Zimmer’s style popping up literally everywhere (including in a Belgian travel documentary). But someone needs to tell Giacchino about reverb.

Leave a Reply

