Jane Eyre

Name: Jane Eyre
Year: 1970
Rating: PG
Running Time (minutes): 110
Description: Jane Eyre is an orphan, sent to Lowood school, and eventually becomes a governess at Thornfield hall to a girl named Adele. While she is there, many strange things happen and eventually she and Edward Rochester, owner of Thornfeild and Adele’s guardian, fall in love. Suddenly, when Jane is about to win the happiness she deserves, a dark secret comes to light, and it will take all of her courage, love and understanding to triumph.
Stars: George C. Scott, Susannah York and Ian Bannen
Genres: Drama

Confound it! Why did the Lord not tell me this would be a waste of my valuable time? Jane! Jane!!! JANE!!!!!!!!!

Okay, so I watched this one only because I wanted to hear John Williams’ score in context, but more about that later. The film sounded absolutely terrible. Really terrible. Maybe it was my copy, but the first James Bond film sounded ten times better. The film was apparently so succesful too that I didn’t manage to find Dutch or English subtitles on any website, but luckily the dialogue was understandable. However, there was, something strange, going on, during Jane’s, childhood. Everyone, spoke, in a really, weird, way. And the girl, who played, Helen, was a terrible, actress. Then, Thornfield. The guy who played Rochester had a really weird accent, but did sing very well. Susannah York had an unattractive voice. Talking about accents, this story is supposed to take place in the north of England, so why exactly does only one child at the end of the film have a Northern accent? As the story progressed, the acting deteriorated. Dramatically. The absolute highlight was: ‘You are rejecting God! – No, I am FINDING him!’ near the end. York sounded as if she was mocking the entire thing at that point, or maybe she just couldn’t keep a straight face for whatever reason.

Now, the score. I already said that it was the main reason why I watched this. I had only heard the Jane Eyre suite in the past and was really awestruck by it. Williams has this special ability to impress me with his majesty, but he used a few chord progressions I didn’t really agree with. Why was that amazing ‘To Thornfield’ movement not used in the film? I was expecting it to play over a sequence where JANE!!! was thundering forth on her way to, or from, Thornfield. Loved its theme, though. The music that plays when she arrives at the house of that mad priest is absolutely stunning. I also liked how Jane played her own love theme on the piano and was looking forward to buying the soundtrack from La-La Land Records, but that one, too, appears to be unavailable. Why is everything I want from them out of print or out of stock? Oh, right, I rejected God. Could I still make amends by travelling to India and working in hospitals, or would a simple prayer suffice?

This was also my first Canadian audio description track. Cute accent.

Leave a Reply

