Presumed Innocent

Name: Presumed Innocent
Year: 1990
Rating: R
Running Time (minutes): 127
Description: After his former girlfriend is killed and he becomes the prime suspect, D.A. Rusty Sabich goes on a search to find the real killer and finds out he/she may be closer to him than he thinks.
Stars: Harrison Ford, Raul Julia and Greta Scacchi
Genres: Crime, Drama, Mystery, Thriller

Not sure what I could write about this film. The main characters and actors are brilliant. Harrison Ford is of course amazing, you really aren’t sure whether he’s innocent or not. I also don’t know who I liked better, Bonnie Bedelia (wife) or Greta Scacchi (lover). In the end, both were equally charismatic. The funny thing is that, very early on, I suddenly suspected how it was going to end. But then I was suddenly sure I had it completely wrong, and yet it turned out I had been right all along.

Even though John Williams wrote the score, I initially had some misgivings. The first cue sounded so… uncomplicated: how could such a simplistic theme be appropriate for this movie? But then the story unfolded and of course Williams completely nailed it again. The only negative remarks I can still give is that there’s a real lack of resemblance between the extremely adequate main theme and the optimistic music towards the ending. Also, Williams handled a sex scene in a way I wasn’t expecting and it didn’t really work for me.

Leave a Reply

